Javier Sordo Madaleno recognized as an Honorary Fellow of the AIA

Javier Sordo Madaleno recognized as an Honorary Fellow of the AIA

Becoming an Honorary Fellow is one of the highest recognitions conferred by the AIA (American Institute of Architects). Javier Sordo Madaleno Bringas receives this honor for his outstanding and exemplary career, but above all for his significant contributions to architecture and society.

“I am very grateful to the AIA for this great honor and for being the second generation of my family to receive it. I consider it a very important achievement.” Javier Sordo Madaleno

The investiture ceremony will take place next April 28 in Orlando, Florida as part of the annual convention of the American Institute of Architects, which is expected to be attended by 20,000 people.

Other Mexican architects to have received this honor include: Pedro Ramírez Vázquez (1953), Félix Candela (1963), José Villagrán García (1963), Mario Pani (1964), Juan Sordo Madaleno (1976), Ricardo Legorreta (1979), Abraham Zabludovsky (1982), Teodoro González de León (1983), Sara Topelson de Grinberg (1992), J. Francisco Serrano (2001), Víctor Legorreta (2007), among others.

Likewise, other architects from around the world who have had this honor conferred on them are: Denisse Scott Brown, Hon. FAIA (2016), Kengo Kuma, Hon. FAIA (2011), Winy Maas, Hon. FAIA (2009), Jan Gehl, Hon. FAIA (2008), Dominique Perrault, Hon. FAIA (2007), Eduardo Souto de Moura, Hon. FAIA (2007), Peter Zumthor, Hon. FAIA (2004), Jacques Herzog, Hon. FAIA (2003), Pierre de Meuron, Hon. FAIA (2003), Rem Koolhaas, Hon. FAIA (1999), Álvaro Siza Vieira, Hon. FAIA (1996), Rafael Moneo, Hon. FAIA (1993), Jean Nouvel, Hon. FAIA (1993), Mario Botta, Hon. FAIA (1983), Renzo Piano, Hon. FAIA (1982), Frei Otto, Hon. FAIA (1968), Alvar Aalto, Hon. FAIA (1958), Pier Luigi Nervi, Hon. FAIA (1957) and more...